- This chapter is currently being re-created for you - Last edited 05.03.2020 -

ANAL FISTULA - FISTULA IN ANO

Anal fistula - Definition

A fistula (lat. tube, pipe) describes a tubular duct, which is usually the result of a chronic, inflammatory process. The anal fistula in the true sense of the word has its origin in the anal canal and pierces variable parts of the sphincter muscle. Rarer forms of fistula originate from higher intestinal sections (rectal fistula) or are caused independently of the anal canal by impaled hair (sine pilonidalis) or systemic inflammation (acne inversa). 

The oldest descriptions of anal fistulas date back to the 4th Pharaonic Dynasty 2600 BC in Egypt. Sushruta in India around 600 BC and Hippocrates in Greece around 400 BC treated fistulas with textile drains impregnated with extracts from medicinal plants.

The surgical treatment of anal fistula goes back to the Frenchman Guy de Chauliac (1300 - 1368) and his British colleague John von Arderne (1307 - 1370).

On this page you can read

Royal anal fistula: Sun King Louis XIV

Probably the most prominent fistula patient in history was Sun King Louis XIV. Charles Francois Felix freed him from his suffering by fistula splitting in 1686. The successful surgeon was elevated to the nobility and was henceforth allowed to call himself Felix de Tassy, furthermore he was granted land and the sum of 300,000 francs.

In 1835 Frederic Salmon opened the first specialist clinic for anal fistula in London. One of his most famous patients was author Charles Dickens, whose gratitude led to the financing of the clinic's expansion by Lord Iveagh, a member of the Guinness Brewery dynasty. After the reconstruction, the hospital on City Road was given the name "St. Mark's Hospital for Fistula and other Diseases of the Rectum" (Video Prof. Robin Philipps), today one of the most renowned colorectal departments in the world.

Hippocrates still believed that a local trauma, for example while riding or rowing, would lead to a bruise which would then become festering. In the Middle Ages, knights were considered particularly at risk of developing anal fistula because they spent long periods in the saddle wearing heavy armour.

1878 discovered Chiari small glands in the wall of the anal canal (the proctodeal glands). He suspected that an infection of these glands could lead to anal fistula. Studies of Desfosses (1880) and Johnson (1914), who were able to demonstrate lymphatic tissue around the excretory ducts of the proctodeal glands.

Building on the work of Lockhart-Mummery (1929) and Eisenhammer (1958), the Parks then the theory of the cryptoglandular development of anal fistulas, which is still accepted today, and the classification of these fistulas depending on their positional relationship to the sphincter muscle. He was able to prove that the "intersphinctary" glands located between the two concentric muscle rings of the inner and outer sphincter are the cause of the vast majority of anal fistulas and have an excretory duct running through the inner sphincter. As rare causes he identified tuberculosis, which was even more common at that time, and chronic inflammatory intestinal diseases such as Crohn's disease.

Sir Alan Parks, founder of the modern theory and classification of anal fistula © St. Marks Hospital Foundation

A distinction is made between the complete anal fistula, in which a tunnel leads from an inner opening in the anal canal to the skin surface, and the incomplete fistula, in which the outer opening is missing.

  • The symptoms of complete anal fistula result from the secretion of fluid, pus or blood. The moisture leads to irritation of the skin, called irritant anal eczema with itching and traces of blood on the toilet paper. The secretion of pus may cause an unpleasant odour, which can be a first symptom. Bleeding scares the patient most and should always be the reason for an endoscopic examination of the colon (colonoscopy).

The fistulotomy is probably more suitable than surgeons or patients are willing to accept.

Phil J. Tozer, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon to St Marks Private Healthcare (2020). Expert Commentary on Perianal Fistulas. Diseases of the Colon & Rectum, 63(2), 133-134.

Michael R.B. Keighley, Norman S. Williams (Eds.): Keighley & Williams' Surgery of the Anus, Rectum and Colon, Fourth Edition. CRC Press, 2018, ISBN 1351105027, Chapter 10, Anorectal Abscess and Fistula

Chiari H. (1878): On the anal diverticula of the rectal mucosa and their relation to anal fistulas. Med Yearbooks 1878;8;419-27

Hermann G., Desfosses L. (1880): Sur la muqueuse de la region cloacale du rectum. Acad Sc 1880; 90:13017-2

Parks, A., & Morson, B. (1962). Fistula-in-Ano [Abridged]. Proceedings of the Royal Society of Medicine, 55(9), 751-758.

– Dieses Kapitel wird gerade für Sie neu erstellt – Letzte Bearbeitung 05.03.2020 –

ANALFISTEL - FISTULA IN ANO

Analfistel - Definition

Eine Fistel (lat. Röhre, Pfeife)  bezeichnet einen schlauchförmigen Gang, der meist infolge eines chronischen, entzündlichen Prozesses entsteht. Die Analfistel im eigentlichen Sinn hat ihren Ursprung im Analkanal und durchbohrt variable Teile des Schließmuskels. Seltenere Fistelformen gehen von höheren Darmabschnitten aus (Rektumfistel) oder entstehen unabhängig vom Analkanal durch eingespießte Haare (Sinus Pilonidalis) oder systemische Entzündungen (Akne inversa). 

Die ältesten Beschreibungen analer Fisteln stammen aus aus der 4. Pharaonendynastie 2600 v. Chr. in Ägypten. Sushruta in Indien um 600 v. Chr. und Hippokrates in Griechenland um 400 v. Chr. behandelten Fisteln mit textilen Drainagen, die mit Extrakten aus Heilpflanzen imprägniert waren.

Die operative Behandlung der Analfistel geht auf den Franzosen Guy de Chauliac (1300 – 1368) und seinen britischen Kollegen John von Arderne (1307 – 1370) zurück.

Auf dieser Seite lesen Sie

Königliche Analfistel: Sonnenkönig Ludwig XIV

Wohl der prominenteste Fistelpatient der Geschichte war Sonnenkönig Ludwig XIV., der von Charles Francois Felix im Jahr 1686 durch eine Fistelspaltung von seinem Leiden befreit wurde. Der erfolgreiche Operateur wurde in den Adelsstand erhoben und durfte sich fortan Felix de Tassy nennen, weiterhin wurden ihm Ländereien und die Summe von 300 000 Francs zuerkannt.

1835 eröffnete Frederic Salmon in London die erste Spezialklinik für die Analfistel. Einer seiner bekanntesten Patienten war Autor Charles Dickens, dessen Dankbarkeit zu einer Finanzierung des Klinikausbaus durch Lord Iveagh, einem Mitglied der Dynastie der Guinness Brauerei führte. Nach dem Umbau erhielt das Krankenhaus in der City Road den Namen “St. Marks Hospital for Fistula and other Diseases of the Rectum” (Video Prof. Robin Philipps), heute eine der renommiertesten kolorektalen Abteilungen der Welt.

Hippokrates glaubte noch, daß eine lokales Trauma, z.B. beim Reiten oder Rudern, zu einem Bluterguß führe, der sich dann eitrig entzünde.  Im Mittelalter galten die Ritter als besonders gefährdet für die Entwicklung einer Analfistel, weil sie mit schwerer Rüstung  lange Zeit im Sattel verbrachten.

1878 entdeckte Chiari kleine Drüsen in der Wand des Analkanals (die Proktodealdrüsen). Er vermutete, daß eine Infektion dieser Drüsen zu einer Analfistel führen könnte. In die gleiche Richtung deuteten Untersuchungen von Desfosses (1880) und Johnson (1914), der Lymphgewebe um die Ausführungsgänge der Proktodealdrüsen nachweisen konnten.

Aufbauend auf den Arbeiten von Lockhart-Mummery (1929) und Eisenhammer (1958) begründete Parks dann die heute noch anerkannte Theorie der kryptoglandulären Entstehung von Analfisteln und die Einteilung dieser Fisteln in Abhängigkeit von der Lagebeziehung zum Schließmuskel. Er konnte  nachweisen, daß die zwischen den zwei konzentrischen Muskelringen des inneren und äußeren Schließmuskel gelegenen (“intersphinktären”) Drüsen bei der überwiegenden Mehrzahl der Analfisteln ursächlich sind und einen durch den inneren Schließmuskel ziehenden Ausführungsgang besitzen. Als seltene Ursachen identifizierte er die damals noch häufigere Tuberkulose und chronisch-entzündliche Darmerkrankungen wie den Morbus Crohn.

Sir Alan Parks, Begründer der modernen Theorie und Klassifikation der Analfistel © St. Marks Hospital Foundation

Man unterscheidet die komplette Analfistel, bei der ausgehend von einer inneren Öffnung im Analkanal ein Tunnel zur Hautoberfläche führt, von der  inkompletten Fistel, bei der die äußere Öffnung fehlt.

  • Die Beschwerden bei der kompletten Analfistel resultieren aus der Absonderung von Flüssigkeit, Eiter oder Blut. Die Feuchtigkeit führt zu einer Reizung der Haut, genannten irritativen Analekzem mit Juckreiz und Blutspuren am Toilettenpapier. Die Sekretion von Eiter bedingt Umständen eine unangenehme Geruchsentwicklung, die ein erstes Symptom sein kann. Blutungen erschrecken den Patienten am meisten und sollten immer Anlass für eine endoskopische Untersuchung des Dickdarms sein (Koloskopie).

Die Fistulotomie ist wahrscheinlich öfter geeignet, als Chirurgen oder Patienten bereit sind, sie in Kauf zu nehmen.

Phil J. Tozer, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon to St. Marks Private Healthcare (2020). Expert Commentary on Perianal Fistulas. Diseases of the Colon & Rectum, 63(2), 133-134.

Michael R.B. Keighley, Norman S. Williams (Eds.): Keighley & Williams’ Surgery of the Anus, Rectum and Colon, Fourth Edition. CRC Press, 2018, ISBN 1351105027, Chapter 10, Anorectal Abscess and Fistula

Chiari H. (1878): Über die analen Divertikel der Rektumschleimhaut und ihre Beziehung zu den Analfisteln. Med Jahrbücher 1878;8;419-27

Hermann G., Desfosses L. (1880): Sur la muqueuse de la region cloacale du rectum. Acad Sc 1880; 90:13017-2

Parks, A., & Morson, B. (1962). Fistula-in-Ano [Abridged]. Proceedings of the Royal Society of Medicine, 55(9), 751-758.